The War on Hotdogs…

Yesterday, I was reading articles from Cracked.com.  If you’ve never been to this site before you really have to check it out.  NOT if you get easily offended though because some of the stuff on there is a bit much but if you can handle it, by all means take a look.  There are many times I’ve laughed out loud while reading this site and yesterday was no exception.  I stumbled upon an article about the worst PSAs (public service announcements) on drugs and honestly…well, you’ll see.

Before anyone gets all wadded up, know I am NOT making fun of drug addicts or anyone who struggles with addiction.  I do realize what a serious problem it is.  I’m also a Mom so don’t think for one second that I’ve not threatened bodily harm to my kid if I EVER find out she’s done or is doing drugs.  I catch her messing around with ’em, and shit is gonna get real – no doubt.  I’m not the type of parent who would sit around hoping the issue goes away on its own. 

The purpose of this blog is to actually encourage parents to take a firm stand with their kids and understand it’s up to us to educate them and keep an eye on them.  Sex, drugs…WE have to take a stand with our kids and let them know the deal.  WE must be the ones to teach them, love them, take care of them.  We cannot count on schools (teachers, counselors) to do the work for us and we damn sure canNOT count on our government, especially since government agencies insist on creating these ridiculous PSAs.  Now, they’ve gotten a bit more real over the years, I’ll admit that.  But there was a time when they were so insane and funny that the only message a kid (such as myself) got from them is “This is my brain on drugs?  Hell, now I just want an egg sandwich.”  I was one of the lucky ones though.  Yes I smoked pot quite a bit when I was younger but it never became a problem.  I just decided I didn’t like it so I didn’t do it anymore.  Not a big deal.

Anyway…while on Cracked.com yesterday, I saw this PSA for LSD and practically laughed myself into oblivion before I realized the real meaning behind the video…thousands of hotdogs die every year due to the use of LSD.  It’s a serious problem here in the U.S. and in other countries, as well.  The wives, the children of hotdogs lose loved ones too often to this horrible drug.  It’s simply unfair.  So the next time you or someone you  know decides to drop a hit PLEASE…stay away from the innocent hotdogs.  We must stop the madness!

Leave a Reply

