Nursery Rhymes…

We all grew up hearing nursery rhymes and songs.  We sang them in school, we had picture books and most are still quite popular today with young children.

This morning, I decided to give a voice to a few characters from some of these rhymes.  If they could speak, what might they say?

Remember Jacob?

John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt,
His name is my name too.

Whenever we go out,
The people always shout,
There goes John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt.

Dah dah dah dah, dah dah dah!

What would Jacob say if he had a voice?  Maybe something like…

Who are you, to take my name?

Get a life, don’t be so lame! 

When I go out, why must you shout?

I know my name, don’t wear it out! 

All I need is quiet and peace,

Shut the hell up before I call the police!

Or, what about poor Jack and his candles…

Jack, be nimble,
Jack, be quick,
Jack, jump over
The candlestick.

Jack jumped high
Jack jumped low
Jack jumped over
and burned his toe.

He might ask us…

My name is Jack

I am no fool

Don’t rock back and forth

And I don’t drool 

Candles are hot

Of this I know

Why would I jump them

And burn my toe?

Let us not forget that poor old woman stuck in a shoe…

There was an old woman who lived in a shoe.
She had so many children, she didn’t know what to do.
She gave them some broth, 
Without any bread,
Whipped them all soundly, and sent them to bed.

She might want to say something like…

I may be old, but I’m not crazy

This ridiculous poem makes me sound lazy. 

I cook real food and don’t beat my kids,

And I’d sell this shoe so give me your bids! 

To live in a shoe, is not easy you see

We need room to move, we need to be free! 

This rhyme is silly, one answer to guess,

Where is the man who started this mess?

Do you have a favorite nursery rhyme?  If the character could speak, what might he or she say?

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

10 thoughts on “Nursery Rhymes…

  1. I’ve often wondered what the old woman who swallowed a fly would say.
    Probably nothing – her mouth gets pretty full towards the end there…

    great set! Those poor misunderstood rhyme characters.

Leave a Reply

