Trifecta Challenge: Thunder

This week’s Trifecta challenge:

For this week’s challenge, we again dug through your suggestions for inspiration. (If you haven’t linked up yet with Meet Your Fellow Trifectans, please do.) We’re going with Tamyka’s suggestion:

thun·der noun \ˈthən-dər\

1: the sound that follows a flash of lightning and is caused by sudden expansion of the air in the path of the electrical discharge
2: a loud utterance or threat
3: bang, rumble

MY ENTRY, using definition #3 (I kept it at 33 words because it’s more of a challenge):

He fires back at his enemy.  The thunder of gunfire is deafening.  A fellow soldier lies wounded beside him.   There is nothing he can do to save his comrade.  He prays.  God cries.

25 thoughts on “Trifecta Challenge: Thunder

  1. I’m impressed that you kept the word count down – I agree it is more difficult. I like the ‘He prays. God cries.’ lines so much. I have to say, I never really thought about God crying. I don’t know why because I look at the state of the world and all that goes on and I want to cry. Why wouldn’t God react the same way to pain, dissappointment, frustration, etc.?

    • Thank you! I’m not an overly religious person but I absolutely believe that humans break his heart every single day. Most war and conflict is due to religion (in my opinion) and I feel sure that isn’t how he intended this world to be!

  2. Thanks for linking up to Trifecta this week. I like how you chose to keep it to 33 words to increase the challenge. Nice job with the prompt. There’s a lot of emotion packed into this little piece. Hope to see you back again soon.

Leave a Reply

