You’re Okay If You’re Gay…

In a previous blog, I mentioned I had something serious to say.  Here it is.

Unless you live in a cave, you’ve probably seen this video.

Sickening, isn’t he?

When I first saw that video, I was furious and stunned speechless (if you know me at all, you know it takes a lot to render me mute on any topic).   When I said in this blog that I was trying to figure out how to write a blog about judging others without judging someone this is the someone I was hoping to avoid judging.  It isn’t going to happen.  This man is “agint” this and “agint” that.  Sounds real intelligent doesn’t he?

NOT.

I’m not sure exactly how to express how stupid, narrow-minded, foolish, and hypocritical I feel this man is.  But hey, at least he’s got guts huh?  The way he stands behind religion and uses it as an excuse to hate?  Yea, way to go dumbass.   If you’re a bigot, don’t hide behind God.  Just say you’re a bigot and call it a day, ok?

Unless God is a bigot, being gay is not about religion.  I REFUSE to believe the God I believe in is prejudice.  I feel sure the God I believe in doesn’t want any of us going through life hating someone because of their sexual orientation but I have faith that he does want us to love and accept one another as equals.  I feel comfortable in saying that the God I believe in would not want us using Him as a reason to hate.  Am I the only one who sees how wrong that is?  (This is only one of several reasons I have issues with organized religion).

People, being gay isn’t about politics either.  Politicians are some of the most dishonest people on this planet.  I don’t care what party you belong to – your favorite politician is likely dishonest.  The politician you’ve voted into office has his or her own agenda and at the end of the day, it likely has nothing at all to do with what you want and/or need and everything to do with what they want and their need for power.

Being gay is about being HUMAN.

There is so much, TOO MUCH, anger and hatred in this world.  It is everywhere and no matter how much you try to avoid it or shelter yourself from it, hatred is around every corner.  Turn on your TV.  Watch the news for about a half minute…you’ll see it and if you’ve got a brain cell left in your head you’ll ask yourself “why?”  What is the point to it?  Who does it hurt?  Who does it help?  Am I being the best person I can be if I go through life hating people for ANY reason?

Franky gives me grief all the time and has said to me, “Lisa, I don’t like to hate the way you do.”  I admit that I use the word “hate” rather loosely.  It’s a horrible habit.  I hate a certain food, or I hate a particular TV show or song on the radio but at my core, in my heart, I don’t hate people.  I may “hate” what they say or some stupid thing they do, but I do not hate people.  I think Franky takes me way too literally.  I also think I have a habit to break.  If you use the word hate as a general term then maybe you’ve got a habit to break, as well.

Let’s all work to remove the word hate from our vocabulary shall we?  Let’s take a moment to think about how important, how necessary love is.  It’s something we all want, yes?  Nobody wants to go through life without having someone to love, a partner to share their life with.

Ya know what strikes me as funny?  I can’t remember ever hearing someone who is gay telling a straight person we’re doing it wrong!  I’ve never heard someone who is gay say to me that I’m going to Hell for the way I love either.  They aren’t judging us so who in the hell are we to judge them?

Something else to think about…it’s none of our business who anyone loves or how they love.  It really isn’t.  It’s a very personal thing love is and I’m well aware that I am in no position to condemn anyone for who or how they love.  Neither is anyone else.  Think about it…how does someone being gay affect YOU personally?  I’d bet money it doesn’t.

There are people in my life who are gay.  I care about them tremendously and consider myself incredibly blessed to know them.  When I look at them, I don’t see gay.  I see funny, smart, witty, talented, beautiful, wonderful HUMAN BEINGS.  Oh and if you’re homophobic, don’t worry…gay isn’t contagious.  You’ve no reason to be afraid of them.

The other day my 11-year-old defended gay rights in church and it was probably THE proudest Mom moment I’ve had to date.  It was AWESOME to hear.  Tells me I’m doing something right as a parent and also tells me that my daughter is on the right track and on a road of acceptance and equality.  We’d all do well to follow her lead and stop wasting energy on hating people for no reason whatsoever.  It’s everyone’s right to not agree but it’d do us all a world of good to agree to disagree and just treat one another with respect and compassion.

I work at avoiding the F-bomb in my blogs because I never know who reads them, but I came across this and honestly don’t think it could be said any better…

Food for thought folks…love or hate?  It’s your choice.  Just be careful who you hurt with your decision.

8 thoughts on “You’re Okay If You’re Gay…

  1. Wow, it always amazes me when I see and hear people spout ignorance like that. It blows me away.
    I might not know the bible inside and out but I don’t believe God is up there judging any of us at any time. The God I know doesn’t discriminate and judge certain groups giving them a sentence of Hell because of whatever the reason is.
    God made us. Why would he make us just to condemn us?

    • Thank you! 😀 A friend posted a video on my Facebook page yesterday of a child, a small child – maybe 5 or 6 years old singing in church “homos won’t go to church.” I could barely stand watching it. People wonder why children hate? It’s b/c in some situations they are taught that hate is okay. Good for you & I’m sure your granddaughter will pick up on your compassionate nature. Kids learn by example! xoxo

      • Wow. Someone taught a little kid to sing that? And they allowed it in church? That is really disturbing. I would be right with you feeling sick.

        You’re right, hate is taught.

        Thank you for the kind words and the support. I appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

