Hating Hate…

After I wrote my blog yesterday, I found myself thinking about how much I hate hate.  It’s funny isn’t it?  I’m contradicting my own self by saying that.  Hating hate, getting angry at anger, being bitter about bitterness.  I wrote a blog attempting to not judge that “pastor” and ended up judging him anyway.  I wanted to avoid judging the gay-bashers of the world but did that, too.  It’s quite the conundrum!

So what does this mean in the fight against negativity?  How do we get past the things in ourselves that are the same things we don’t like in our world?

Acceptance.

I do not agree with anyone who is racist or prejudice against people who are different.  I truly don’t.  It does SERIOUSLY upset me but the bottom line is, they have a right to feel the way they feel just as I have the right to not agree with them.  I’ll accept there are people who go through life being hateful but that doesn’t mean I have to live my life that way.  See, every  morning when we wake up we have the glorious opportunity to make a choice – will we be negative or positive?  Love or hate?  Happy or mad?

What choice will you make today?

I’ve found, as I’ve gotten older, that having a negative attitude takes so much more energy than being positive.  Negativity is completely draining.  The preacher from the video yesterday must be exhausted, huh?  Physically, I feel bad most of the time.  I’ve got health issues.  So for me, trying to stay positive is the most beneficial thing I can do for me and for those around me.  Stop and mull over the days you’ve made it through with a positive attitude and compare those to days that were not so happy.  Really give it some thought.  How did you feel during the day?  What about when you finally went to bed?  How much more tired were you?  How did your day go?  What about interactions with co-workers, family and/or friends…how did they react to your bad attitude?  Can you see any big differences?

We can spend our time complaining and worrying about every single little thing or we can just decide that things are the way they are.   Debt, death, taxes, weather, other people…things are just going to happen that are out of our control and no matter how much we worry or how much we complain, there are things we simply can’t control or change.  LET THOSE THINGS GO.  We waste so much time on things we can’t control that we allow ourselves to become overwhelmed and forget there are things we can control.  Each of us has the ability to live a happy life.  It’s all in our attitude and it’s about giving ourselves the power to smile even when things aren’t so great.   Accept things are going to happen.  Accept people will be different.  Accept the things you can’t control and above all, the most important thing to remember is…

BE HAPPY.

Now, I’ll step down off my high-horse and change topics…

Yesterday, after the whole Obamacare debacle happened, I noticed on Facebook how upset everyone was.  This whole thing confuses me and I’ve yet to figure out how it’s a good thing for Americans.  So I posted this question on FB:  “If you agree with this decision and feel it’s a good thing, please help me understand.  Why is it good?”

The response was under-whelming.  One person spoke up and he was also as confused as I was.

I posted the link to yesterday’s blog hoping to start some kind of discussion.  A couple of people did respond but most everyone chose to ignore it.

The problem as I see it is this – people are afraid to speak up!  We’ve gotten so used to being bullied by politicians, government, and the world in general that we’re just cowering in a corner waiting for someone else to speak up so we don’t have to.

People, STAND UP FOR YOURSELVES!

I’m on FB all the time.  By all the time, I mean if I’m not asleep I’m there.  So if you are on FB and you want to friend me, please do.  Get in on the discussions and never be afraid to speak your mind on anything I post.  As long as you’re respectful, you’re welcome to speak out.  In fact, I encourage it!

Have a great weekend friends!

6 thoughts on “Hating Hate…

  1. Obama said no new taxes, especially to the middle class. Guess who’s going to be paying for this?

    It passed specifically as a tax. And you will be taxed (penalized) even if you don’t buy it, so it’s not like car insurance where only those who have cars have to have it.

    This article gives me some measure of hope: http://www.ijreview.com/2012/06/9398-why-chief-justice-roberts-made-the-right-long-term-decision-with-obamacare/

    And, I think it goes without saying that because of the state opt-out clause, it won’t be national health care because there are going to be a LOT of states that don’t participate.

    The only good I can see that has come has been that people can keep their kids on their insurance plans until they are 26; supposedly people with pre-existing conditions can’t be denied (although it seems children who are born with conditions can be denied) and there appears to be no life-time cap like there is now.

    And there’s the matter of the chip that is required to be implanted into people to keep track of them that is supposedly mandatory (can anyone find this in the bill?) My thing is, I’m pretty sure they could have line-itemed each of the good points and not saddled it to a boat anchor……………

    • I’ll go to jail and die in jail before I let anyone implant any kind of chip in me. Seriously. That is way way over the line. This country is going to Hell and if that makes makes it another term, we’re so beyond screwed that we’ll never recover. I don’t want to live in this country anymore!

      • The problem is, where would you go? Most other places are in worse shape than we are here, and at least all of our rights haven’t been stripped away. I’ve heard people saying they are going to go to Canada and I think, really? Canada has national health care, and a lot of people (who are actually sick and have to use the system, which, as many here don’t know doesn’t include cancer care- you have to buy additional health care for that coverage) don’t like it there.

        Plus, used to be, in order to emigrate to Canada, you had to have skills that they wanted in order to get in……..

        I think it’s easier and better in the long run to stay and duke it out. This country needs an enema……….

      • This country does indeed need an enema. Won’t argue that at all. I’ve no idea where I’d go but hell, a change of scenery never hurt anyone. 🙂 xo

  2. I totally agree that it takes a lot more energy to be positive than negative and for me being angry at someone for a long time makes me literally physically sick over time. It’s hard for me to let go and not worry but this post is a reminder it definitely makes things better if I try to let go!

Leave a Reply

