Trifecta Challenge – Pedantic

On to the weekly prompt from Trifecta.  This week’s word comes from Karen is Muttering.

PEDANTIC (adjective)

1 : of, relating to, or being a pedant(see pedant)
2 : narrowly, stodgily, and often ostentatiously learned
3 : unimaginative, pedestrian


I’ve mentioned this before but I prefer sticking to 33 words because I find it more of a challenge.  In addition to that, I find shorter posts leave room for the imagination.  This could be an exchange between a man and woman in more than one type of situation.  I like letting the readers decide for themselves.  🙂

“This can’t continue,” he said.

Her response is quiet, barely a whisper, “I have disappointed you.”

Her acquiescence angers him, “There must be change!  It’s all so pedantic!  I can’t take it anymore!”

2

10 thoughts on “Trifecta Challenge – Pedantic

  1. I find that 33 words is absolutely more of a challenge than 333. And you’re right – this leaves it open to our imaginations. My sister actually had a relationship like this – reversed. He agreed with everything, offered no opinions, and it drove her to distraction.

    • I can understand your sister’s frustration. I prefer a man who can think for himself. No pushovers! Thanks for taking time to read my entry. Really appreciate it! 🙂

  2. I wasn’t sure the first read, but the second time I realized how your piece gets right to the heart of the matter. Anyone, who is in a relationship with a person who always goes along and never has his/her own opinion, will know how frustrating and annoying it can be. Glad you challenged yourself to write the shortest story. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

