Trifecta Challenge: Lost Love

This time, I’m cheating a little and combining two writing challenges.

The first one I saw on Facebook (my apologies because I can’t remember the page name).  The writing prompt read:  Go to page 49 of the book closest to you and use the first sentence as a writing prompt.  The book closest to me was A Wrinkle in Time and the first sentence was “Sure, go ahead.”

The Trifecta challenge is to write between 33-333 words using the 3rd definition of the word club.  I did something different this time and wrote 333 words.  EXACTLY.  🙂

3a : an association of persons for some common object usually jointly supported and meeting periodically; also : a group identified by some common characteristic  

b : the meeting place of a club <lunch at the club>  

c : an association of persons participating in a plan by which they agree to make regular payments or purchases in order to secure some advantage  

d : nightclub  

e : an athletic association or team

My entry…

“Sure, go ahead.” These were the last words I said to Malcolm as he walked out of our bedroom.  We’d had an argument the night before. I was still upset with him so my words were tinged with anger when he asked if I minded if he went fishing with friends.  The truth is I didn’t mean for them to come out that way, but it happened.  He left so quickly there was nothing I could do except wait until he came home.

With a sigh, I reluctantly got out of bed, ran a comb through my hair, tossed on a tank top and shorts because the temps were going to be in the 90s that afternoon, then started my house work.  It didn’t take long and left free time to make lunch plans with a friend I’d not seen in awhile.  We made arrangements to meet at our country club.

On my way home, I stopped to pick up dinner.  I planned to serve his favorite meal along with a heartfelt apology for the previous evening.  As I headed back to my car, I was stopped suddenly by a shiver.  Sweat was dripping off my brow and I’d just tossed my hair up into a ponytail.  Temps had reached 94 degrees.  It was odd but I thought little of it, except for a passing prayer that I wasn’t coming down with the flu, as I made my way to the car and left.

I began to worry as it got later, darker and still Malcolm hadn’t come home.  As I paced the living room, unsure if I should be angry or scared, the phone rang and somehow, instinctively and instantly, I knew.  Another shiver passed through me and I knew I’d never have a chance to apologize to the man who owned my heart.

I buried him three days later.  As I stood there weeping, I felt him pass through me and heard his voice say one last time “I love you.”

7 thoughts on “Trifecta Challenge: Lost Love

  1. Haunting and sad, and full of regrets. “…the man who owned my heart” – that’s a perfect way to put it. Thanks so much for sharing this lovely piece. ~Christine (Trifecta Guest Judge)

Leave a Reply

