Praying…

This morning, I was catching up on emails, and read the White Bison’s Elder Meditation for January 2nd which talks about  how we all need to be responsible for our own actions and the words we say and the thoughts we think.  These emails from White Bison never fail to get me to thinking about life, my place in this world, my responsibilities, and they have an amazing way of calming  me when I’m frazzled.  Many I’ve saved so I can refer back to them when needed.

These meditations make a world of difference in my attitude…most days.  I’m not perfect nor am I medicated so sometimes even meditation can’t bust through my Bitch Wall.  While I don’t consider myself a religious person, I do feel I’m spiritual and I’m comfortable in my relationship with God and yes, I do believe in God.  It took a lot of years and soul-searching to get here, but I made it.  I honestly do not feel that my sitting in a building every Sunday would make a huge impact on my spirituality anymore than I feel sitting in a garage everyday would make me a car.  People say I am wrong by not attending church every Sunday and that we are to come together and pray, that is what God wishes us to do.  But in this world of online togtherness, I feel I am part of a group of people who do pray together everyday.  Think about it…how many of your friends on Facebook ask for prayer in their status updates?  How many of us actually take the time to pray for them?  I do.  I do it everytime I see a friend in need.  I can see where others comment with a note of prayer.  Because Ghost Walk is under a constant spiritual attack, we’ve had blessings at the beginnings of our staff meetings.  Let’s face it, we’re all connected.  We’re all human, we all struggle, we all have joys and blessings in our lives are grateful for (or should be), and if you are part of an online group  of friends who pray then you’re okay and for me, I’d rather live my life this way. 

My daughter and I had a conversation the other day about being normal.  That’s a hard word to define – normal.  Everyone in our Universe is different  and unique.  What is normal for you might not be normal for me and vice-versa.  God made us that way and think of how incredibly boring our world would be if we were all the same?  Yikes!  So given the fact that what works for some might not work for others, I think we’re all a bit too judgemental when it comes to prayer and where and how we should do it.  You believe what you wish to belive, do what feels right for you, pray the way you want to, find that place within yourself where you can be comfortable with your personal relationship with your Higher Power.  It’s worth the effort and I promise to not rain on your prayer parade if you don’t rain on mine.

Leave a Reply

