Duck Face and Other News…

It’s going to be a random day.  I can’t speak for everyone else but there are mornings when I wake up and just KNOW the day is going to be random and floopy…thank you Phoebe Buffay.  My mind is all over the place this morning, which isn’t anything new, but some days my thoughts are a bit more scattered than others.

Read an article earlier about a shooting threat at a local school.  Parents are keeping their kids home.  Or rather some are.  Some parents feel it’s just a prank and are sending their kids to the school.  Is this something parents really want to chance?  I wouldn’t.  I home school my daughter because of this kind of thing and about 100 more reasons.  I realize bad things can happen anywhere and my decision to home school my daughter, Emily is her name by the way, is not full-proof in guaranteeing her safety but I feel it helps.

This is my Emily.  She’s beautiful, isn’t she?  I hate to brag (ok, not really) but she’s a great kid.  I mean as far as kids go, she’s damn near perfect and I am probably the luckiest Mom alive.  She’s 11 now and absolutely owns my heart.  Honestly, I don’t think a person can know what REAL, true, deep unconditional love is until they have a child.  There is just nothing like it, man.  Nothing.  Anyway, my baby girl is a rocker (makes a rocker mama proud!), she loves music, fashion, art, and excels in all of her school subjects.  I’m just so proud!

Read another article where Oprah apologized for asking everyone to watch her network during the Grammy awards (via Twitter), especially those with a Neilsen box.  Um, Oprah?  Need attention much?  So pathetic AND it was the day after Whitney Houston died so I’m guessing the Grammy’s had more viewers that night than Oprah did.

And about Whitney, God rest her soul.  If I see another person post another joke about her death, I swear I’m going to scream.  When in the hell did our world become so cruel and so callous?  When did it become acceptable to disrespect someone’s death?  Or life, for that matter?  The woman had some serious talent and during her lifetime she did great work.  THAT is what we all need to remember about her.  I’ve actually unfriended a couple of folks on Facebook for making jokes about it.  Good riddance, assholes.  I’ve had to unlike several pages, too.  I just can’t tolerate it.  R.I.P. Whitney.

Now, to talk about a serious subject, one that is absolutely driving me batshit crazy…the Duck Face.  WHY?!  Why do chicks do this?!  I see these pictures all the time and can’t figure it out.  Ok, I realize the gist behind it is to make cheekbones look slimmer, is that right?  Lips pouty, face slim and the end result is what?  IT’S THIS:

Imagine my dismay when I discovered even Captain Kirk made the Duck Face!

And worst of all…my idol, my hero…Ozzy.  This one almost made me cry.

It can’t just be me that sees how ridiculous this is.  I know I’m not alone.  I can forgive Ozzy because…well, because he’s Ozzy and the man can do no wrong, but surely these girls see how stupid they look?  They just have to.  It’s an epidemic and it must be stopped.  There should be laws against it.  I think if SOPA is going to happen, there should be some kind of Duck Face clause worked into so people who violate this face law by putting these pictures on the internet are punished.  Just my opinion.

I’m done ranting  – for now.

This is one of my most favorite Ozzy songs.  Listen to the words.  It’s a great song.  Enjoy!

(Told you this would be random!)

And by the way…THIS is how a duck should look.  Cute, happy and wearing no pants.

5 thoughts on “Duck Face and Other News…

  1. I am so behind the times on everything, I didn’t have a clue this ‘duck face’ thing was going on and it looks ridiculous! If any of my clients give me a duck face I’m so kicking them out of my room and telling them to come back when they stop acting like a fool. Oh, and I was homeschooled myself and I’d do it all over again to avoid the drama and how nasty kids are in high school now-a-days.

  2. The Duck Face is BAD. It’s an evil kind of bad. I had to Google “history of the duck face” and came up with Derek Zoolander which was a comedy so I’m guessing these chicks that insist on doing it missed the whole COMEDY concept. So kudos to you for kickin’ out ducky clients! Thank you for your comment!

  3. My daughter and I have this thing where we make the other person close their eyes and then Google something (images) that we think someone looks like. I googled ducks last time. She nearly spit out her crack cocaine all over the machine guns the pit bulls were laying on!

  4. Daughters are perfect until they are 14…then they should just be put to sleep until they are 25….lol…okay…I’ve got something for you on the duckface…bahahaha…have to inbox it because of explicit language but you will love it. Yes…Emily IS beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

